Liebster Award!


Liebster

How cool is this for ending up a week of hard work?

Joan Reginaldo, the sassy and fabulous author of  Work in Progress, decided I needed a Liebster Award nomination. And no, it has nothing to do with the fact that I also live in the Bay Area. Although I would like to point out creativity does runs high here, what with all the entrepreneurs/geeks/engineers in the area.

So what’s a Liebster Award?

A Liebster is a nod from fellow bloggers (thanks, Joan!) that they like something you’re doing. It’s also a way of spreading the word about up and coming blogs and bloggers. Does it get any better than getting a pat on the back from your peers?

No, it does not.

Award rules:

  1. Post a Liebster Award image on your blog. There are several varieties. Google them and find the one you like the most.
  2. List 11 random facts about yourself.
  3. Answer the 11 questions asked by the person/people who nominated you.
  4. Make up 11 questions for those to be nominated.
  5. Nominate 11 people to receive the award. They should have fewer than 200 followers on their blog.
  6. If you’re nominated, your name and/or link will appear at the bottom of this post. Just follow the same format and voila! you’re a recipient

So without further ado, Part I: 11 random facts about me.

  1. I think cemeteries are the best place for finding good mystery plots – no pun intended.
  2. I adore well done hash browns.
  3. I’m a Peets coffee fan.
  4. However, I do drink Yorkshire Gold English tea, but just in the mornings. Afternoons are reserved for Glengettie Welsh tea.
  5. Funkiest place I’ve ever visited: St. Gegard Monastery in Armenia.
  6. Favorite city: London.
  7. Writing office = modern, sleek, and with NO mess.
  8. I currently have two monitors and wish I had room for a third. One to display my draft, one to display the revision draft I’m currently reworking, and one for google research.
  9. Cat or dog? Right now, a cat that thinks he’s a dog
  10. Best editing project ever done: Editing music lyrics for Delusion Squared albums I and II.
  11. Best part about writing? Listening to people tell their stories.

Part II: 11 questions from Joan:

  1. What makes you cry? Sad movies like The Ghost and Mrs. Muir.
  2. What is your deepest fear –  a fear you haven’t told anyone because you don’t want to appear foolish? Not being taken seriously in my work.
  3. Han or Luke? Luke’s an immature twit and Han’s an egotistical chauvinist so I gotta go with Chewy.
  4. How do you deal with criticism? Pretty good, actually. I try to take the useful while discarding the useless.
  5. What’s the best suggestion you have for new writers? Keep learning but also take a few things with a grain of salt.
  6. Plotter or Pantser? Planster. :)
  7. What short story has influenced your life (not necessarily writing life) the most? I can’t think of a short story but definitely, Women Who Run With the Wolves made quite an impact. The book is so marked up and dog-eared it’s almost unbelievable. And guys, don’t let the title scare you – it’s quite good.
  8. What current world event has made you disappointed in humanity? The brutal gang rape in India. And now the defendants are pleading not guilty.
  9. What current world event has made your proud of humanity? Too many to choose from. Here’s a list.
  10. Which of your bad writing habits do you wish you could break? Procrastination! Takes me too long to get started.
  11. What do you like best about your current project? My novel where I solve the mystery of a pit full of bones belonging to several young girls who died almost 100 years ago.

Part III: My 11 questions to my nominees:

  1. Cat or dog?
  2. Most remote place in the world you’ve ever been?
  3. Hardest thing about your job?
  4. Best thing about your job?
  5. What’s the one job you’d never like to do?
  6. What gives you peace?
  7. What makes you angry?
  8. What’s your favorite swear word?
  9. Carnivore or vegetarian?
  10. What’s one thing you regret not doing with your life?
  11. What are you doing about it?

Part IV: My nominees (Most of my faves already have tons of followers but I’m determined to find some more treasures out there).

Sabine Ludwig – world traveler extraordinaire

Issa Mas – single mom and smartass writer extraordinaire

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “Liebster Award!

  1. Joan

    Awesome tidbits of information here. I LOLed several times. And yes, Luke is an immature twit. Though I think Han may be playing egotistical to hide an insecurity problem.
    I was following the India gang rape too.
    And cemetaries are overwhelming! The very air feels differet, as if the ground exists in a microcosm of altered gravity.

Leave a Reply

